Speaking the Piano: Reflections on Learning and Teaching
Author/Editor:    Tomes, Susan.
Publisher:    Boydell & Brewer Ltd Academic
Binding:    hbk.
Physical Media:    book
Pages:    277
Pubn Year:    2018
Price (ARP): $43.95
Price (NZ RRP): $39.95 AUD ex GST
Discount Code: A1

ISBN:   9781783273256
ISBN10:   1783273259

9781787442825 EBL 1 User ebook

Description: In Speaking the Piano, renowned pianist Susan Tomes turns her attention toteaching and learning. Teaching music encompasses everything from putting a drumin a child's hands to helping an accomplished musician unlock the meaning andspirit of the classics. At every stage, some fundamental issues keep surfacing.In this wide-ranging book, Susan Tomes reflects on how her own experience as alearner, in different genres from classical to jazz, has influenced her approachto teaching. She tells us how her performing career has given her insight intowhat young performers need to know, and how discussions with students have fedinto her own practice. She describes the brilliant and intriguing teachers whosemasterclasses opened her ears to the many ways in which music can be broughtalive and communicated. This is a book to appeal to a wide range of readers -pianists of every level from beginner to professional, piano teachers, musiciansof all kinds, and the broader community of music-lovers. In a passionatecontribution to the ongoing debate about the place of music in education, SusanTomes argues that this most inspiring of arts can play a unique role in personaldevelopment.This is a lovely, wise, elegantly written book, filled with tips and anecdoteswhich could be helpful and encouraging for any pianist, whether a beginner or aprofessional. Above all it is a book in which one senses constantly the deeplove the author has for music itself, for its ability to inspire, touch and,indeed, change lives. STEPHEN HOUGHSUSAN TOMES is a multi-award-winning pianist whose career encompasses solo, duoand chamber music playing; she has been at the heart of the internationallyadmired ensembles Domus, the Gaudier Ensemble and the Florestan Trio. Herlecture-recitals have enabled many listeners to engage with the classics on anew level. She is the author of four acclaimed books about performance: Beyondthe Notes (Boydell Press 2004), A Musician's Alphabet (Faber, 2006), Out ofSilence (Boydell Press, 2010), and Sleeping in Temples (Boydell Press, 2014).